White Dog Art

moon feather

In Art Watercolor Gallery, Wild Things on August 18, 2011 at 2:15 pm

original watercolor aceo 3.5 x 2.5 c8/2011

I have always loved barn owls. There is some thing very human about their faces. In Beatrix Potter’s ‘The Tale of Squirrel Nutkin’ an owl played an important part…’Old Brown.’ As a child I was both afraid of the owl in this story and in awe of it. In my memory this was a barn owl. But as I look at the story art it seems like it must have been another type of owl. I haven’t yet identified it.

  1. […] Cool owl. I have always loved barn owls. There is some thing very human about their faces. In Beatrix Potter’s ‘The Tale of Squirrel Nutkin’ an owl played an important part…’Old Brown.’ As a child I was both afraid of the owl in this story and in awe of it. In my memory this was a barn owl. But as I look at the story art it seems … Read More […]

  2. A wonderful owl. Beautiful painted. Do you have an owl like that living close to you?

    • No, I don’t have any barn owls here that I have seen. I’m not sure whether they live in the mountains. I do have an owl of undetermined type close to my house. I hear the owl calling but have not seen him. The cedars around here are really thick and hide wild life very well.

      Gretchen

  3. Thank you. Gretchen, I hope you see this wonderful animal soon.
    What you wrote makes me think. What if we could see what’s underneath?

    • Well, Hanneke, since we both seem to walk with the faeries, I am going to say that….yes….we do see beneath. It’s just that we don’t necessarily acknowledge this. ♥ gretchen

      white dog art gretchendelrio.wordpress.com gretchendelrio.com

Leave a Reply

