White Dog Art

a very big bear

In Art Watercolor Gallery, Wild Things on June 10, 2013 at 2:38 pm
watercolor aceo 6/2013

watercolor aceo 6/2013

I have not yet seen a Crestline bear this season. We have a long summer ahead. I don’t look for them, but they appear. I carry an air horn as possible protection. I don’t know whether that would work. I don’t suppose they would like the noise. As long as there are no cubs with Mama bear it’s pretty safe. Black bears aren’t mean. I hope, I hope, I hope.

purchase this painting

  1. My grandpa always joked that the bells on hikers’ walking sticks were “bear dinner bells” 🙂

    Gorgeous bear painting! 🙂

  2. A beauty! Such lovely and thoughtful eyes. I had a bear right by the front door under the crab apple tree. Checking for a bird feeder no doubt. No luck so perhaps he won’t be back. But it was dusk and I wouldn’t have seen him except the dog screamed and he ran off. I like the air horn idea!

  3. Beautiful, Gretchen! Those eyes! I don’t know how you do it! Softness and power!

  4. He is lovely; but, I’m not sure how benign. Careful.

  5. I’ve heard the same as others are stating, that black bears tend to be quite shy… I’ve only run into them once or twice, and that was DEFINITELY the case! 🙂 What a lovely tribute to these gorgeous creatures.

  6. They are really comical. They lumber and the sight of one from behind while exiting is wonderful. Of course, better to have a safe viewing perch.

Leave a Reply

