White Dog Art

angel

In Art Watercolor Gallery, Wild Things on January 3, 2012 at 8:50 pm

original watercolor 8 x 10 c12/2011

I painted this for a 14 year old Navaho girl. It is for her protection and her power. She sees auras and is very disturbed by this. She is just amazing. Beauty beyond any words. You can see into the soul of the universe when you look at her eyes. She has no idea. I loved her the moment I saw her. My blessings for her well being are woven into the art.

  1. Gretchen, this is stunning! I just want to keep looking at it and looking at it…Every element is so connected, interwoven. I hope the young girl appreciates the gift!

  2. Stunning and powerful. You have a beautiful soul, Gretchen. It shines through in this painting.

  3. Evocative synthesis,Gretchen.
    Most appealing work of art of very high standards depicting the labyrinthic aspect of human soul …

  4. So beautiful. You’re really touched by this special child, it shows in every brush stroke. Everything in this painting is special.

  5. The soul of the subject that inspired you (in this case we are talking about the girl) is the Daedalus labyrinth and becomes one body with the painter’s mind and ability to follow the dark paths of her soul …
    Her Soul and Mind,your Mind and Soul become one Body that can see into the Soul of the Universe along with the beholders.
    That’s what I caught,Gretchen,from your inspirational work.
    Presumably,I am lost in the labyrinth of your exceptional work …
    Regards
    Doda

    • Thank you, Doda, for your clarification. Yes, this is true. For me it takes no effort and I see no dark paths. Rather, I ‘feel’ the spirit of my subject. It is a gestalt experience which transfers to the visual. I think that you and I have like minds here……..just different words to express. It was my intention to give ‘Angel’ some solace or, perhaps, a direction in which she could search for her own answers. I do so appreciate your meaty and valuable comments. They always make me ponder.

      Gretchen

  6. Thanks kindly Gretchen for your pithy reply …
    Very much appreciated.
    Doda

  7. Absolutely gorgeous, Gretchen. Perhaps it is that extra gift from the heart that really shines through in this painting.

  8. This so perfect, Gretchen. A vision.

    • This one was for ‘Angel’ and that was her real name. She bonded with the trees. Her beautiful mother was very ill and Angel, the eldest….14……of 3 daughters, bore the brunt of the emotional turmoil in her family. Angel just plain loved life.

  9. […] ~ this lovely watercolor painting by Gretchen Del Rio with its girl-tree, panther and other spirit animals seemed the perfect […]

  10. Just beautiful. I love your spiritual art:)

  11. […] ~ this lovely watercolor painting by Gretchen Del Rio with its girl-tree, panther and other spirit animals seemed the perfect […]

  12. […] ~ this lovely watercolor painting by Gretchen Del Rio with its girl-tree, panther and other spirit animals was the perfect […]

  13. […] ~ this lovely watercolor painting by Gretchen Del Rio with its girl-tree, panther and other spirit animals was the perfect […]

  14. […] ~ this lovely watercolor painting by Gretchen Del Rio with its girl-tree, panther and other spirit animals was the perfect […]

  15. […] ~ the lovely watercolor painting by Gretchen Del Rio with its girl-tree, panther and other spirit animals was the inspiration for […]

Leave a comment