White Dog Art

qilin of the yellow emperor

In Art Watercolor Gallery, Painted Ponies, Wild Things on May 18, 2017 at 3:11 pm

watercolor 5/2017

So…does the unicorn exist now or ever? Perhaps whatever we can imagine with the mind does exist.  

Long before the pearly white unicorn of European lore, a one-horned, magical animal was said to roam the Eastern world: the Asian unicorn. First mentioned in written stories around 2700 BC, this unicorn is described as a creature of great power and wisdom. Always benevolent, it avoids fighting at all costs and walks so softly it will not crush a blade of grass. And no one but the very pure of heart should ever see it.

purchase this painting

  1. Qilin! You are stunning and I wish I could step into your painting and fly away with you.

  2. Reblogged this on THE BeZINE and commented:
    A beatifully rendered unicorn by American artist, Gretchen Del Rio.

    • Thank you Jamie. Production for me is quite slow these days

      • I noticed. Not feeling well?

      • A great many diseases together have slowed my life to a slow crawl. I keep making the best of the situation but it is becoming more difficult. It is fortunate that I moved to San Jose when I did…..better doctors and my daughter is very close by. It is true that art never leaves your head even though not physically creating. I’m not done yet……it just takes more time to process.

    • My ipad sent my words before I was finished talking. It’s the ‘clumsy finger’ problem. I was going to say that that I have slowed way down because of health issues but I will never stop painting entirely. It is my window of passion as is your beautiful poetry for you.

Leave a Reply

