White Dog Art

earthsinger

In Art Watercolor Gallery, Black Bears, Wild Things on January 10, 2017 at 3:47 pm
watercolor original 1/2017

watercolor original 1/2017

‘Just slow down. Slow down your speech. Slow down your breathing. Slow down your walking Slow down your eating. And let this slower, steadier pace perfume your mind. Just slow down….’ dojo

This quote is so true for all of us. When you do slow down you see just how frantic most of our lives have become. When I lived at 5000′ in the San Bernardino Mountains I made infrequent trips off the mountain.  On the return trips back up the mountain from the flats of San Bernardino I experienced that the energy changed at about 3000′. It was palpable….the lack of busy mind and an overwhelming sense of well being…… and it was something almost tangible. The mountain held solitude and quiet in reverence. Not so the business of the population of the lower altitudes. I couldn’t say just what this was all about. I have been given a few spiritual explanations but no matter. There was a silence that became available on the mountain and not readily so in flat land. Having recently moved to a metropolitan area I can say that maintaining that peace and calm is a challenge but I know how it feels. I was taught by the nature of the mountain and I carry the peace within. I must be vigilant to live quietly now since I am surrounded by noisy chatter of all kinds.

Changing the subject……I painted this bear from the same sketch that I did of ‘Rose Bear.’ Reason being is that the plan I envisioned for the background didn’t work out. I usually don’t redo a painting but I just couldn’t see what to do with it. As soon as ‘Rose Bear’ left for her new owner I saw how to fix the background. I’m glad because I really liked this  bear. So if you think you are seeing double, this is why.

purchase this painting

  1. ❤️ *gretchen*

    white dog art gretchendelrio.com

    On Tue, Jan 10, 2017 at 2:47 PM, Gretchen Del Rio’s Art Blog wrote:

    > Gretchen Del Rio posted: ” ‘Just slow down. Slow down your speech. Slow > down your breathing. Slow down your walking Slow down your eating. And let > this slower, steadier pace perfume your mind. Just slow down….’ dojo This > quote is so true for all of us. When you do slow dow” >

  2. Reblogged this on THE BeZINE and commented:
    This month’s offering from Gretchen Del Rio along with encouragement to slow down.

  3. I understand what you’re saying, even if I’ve never felt what you have.

    • Sometimes we humans experience a tear in the fabric and we can stand in another’s shoes. So nice that you feel this experience. I see that when we are quiet we become aware of so much. Thank you my friend.

  4. The bear is beautiful.

  5. I love the look of this bear; there´s so much depth in her/his friendly eyes!

  6. Breathtakingly beautiful. Love the eyes, so intriguing that I wonder what has captured the bear’s attention for it must be wondrous. Thank you for sharing.

    • And I thank you for responding. Perhaps even in this bear body a window has opened to understanding. Highly unlikely but then this is a spirit bear so who knows.

      • Anything is possible. I have long believed animals can see things and certainly sense things that human sensitivities have become dulled towards. It might be a day dream of mine, but I like to think of it more as a mystery yet to be understood. I think your paintings are wonderful and their stories fascinating. Thank you so much for sharing them.

      • Our minds are cluttered with thoughts that we believe to be true. And so we are not able to embrace the moment as do our furry, feathered friends. This is such a beautiful world in which animals live. The more we touch them…..really touch them…..the more beautiful our world becomes.❤️ a wonderful, warm day to you.

  7. Beautiful bear. And beautiful message. 🙂

  8. Slowing down is so hard but so good for us! Thanks for sharing! I have just started a poetry blog here on WordPress in case you have time to have a look? Have a good day, Sam 🙂

Leave a Reply

