White Dog Art

Home again

In Red Cottage on September 12, 2016 at 2:28 pm

I moved from the mountain in the very beginning of June. That was three months ago and I am just now….sort of…. ready to start painting, publishing, etc. I miss many things from the mountains and those are sweet memories. Now I live in San Jose and I’m exploring this new home. I actually have spent most of my adult life in Northern California so this is like coming home. Luckily I live right next to the Santa Cruz mountains and that is beautiful. Neighbors are great. Of course I have met the ‘dog people’ while out walking. Funny how that works.img_1848

Buddha requesting his 1pm dried duck treat. (No…the dogs are not vegetarians). Both the dogs tell time. They come at the appropriate time and let me know that they are due something. That’s my new portable air conditioner in the background. High 90 degrees for two weeks forced my hand to purchase a new coolant. I used swamp coolers on the mountain because it was dry dessert air but it’s too moist here for that to do the job of keeping me cool.

img_1846That’s Maus sitting next to my yoga mat. I call it doga because she likes to bother me by sitting on the mat when she can find a little space. It isn’t easy practicing with a Queensland hogging the mat.dsc02249You can see here that my dogs are now leashed. There are endless possibilities for leash entanglements. Chasing squirrels is quite hazardous for me. I haven’t gone down yet and I’m getting better. Remember….they were never leashed before and chased varmints on the mountain as they pleased. Definitely adjustment for all.

This is the end of the pics for now because word press is balking at uploading any more????? Anyway…I’m happy to be in my present digs….love g

 

  1. Hi Gretchen,

    You don’t know me. I buy your work sometimes, especially the horses. I just wanted to let you know how much I’ve missed your beautiful blog and how happy I am to have you back in my ‘inbox’. I love your work and hearing about your life. I’m glad you’re settling in your new home. I look forward to hearing more about you and your lovely dogs. Love and blessings to you, Maria x

  2. I am so HAPPY to see you again. Your dogs are beautiful and I’m glad you like your new home. I know you will miss your lovely cottage and the mountains. I know you would have stayed there longer if you could have but now you’re all set in your new place and that’s a good thing. Hope you start painting soon. Again, your dogs are so sweet and beautiful. Welcome back Gretchen. I missed you.

  3. Welcome back! 🙂 I’ve missed seeing your beautiful work and send you thoughts of settled happiness. 🙂

  4. Welcome home and welcome back! So lovely to see your new digs and your lovely dogs. Mine tells time too. And he runs a very strict schedule! 🙂 It was so nice to see your artwork on line yesterday. I’ve missed it and you. The Santa Cruz mountains are gorgeous. Enjoy!!

  5. Welcome back and good to see to again.
    How is it that animals can tell time? The cat and dog both know when
    it’s time for their dinner at our house. They won’t let us forget.
    I love Florida but miss the mountains a great deal. peace to you, Eddie

  6. Welcome back to creativity, Gretchen. Aahhh … Santa Cruz, that’s where we met – framed and laughed a lot. I’m so glad you have the mountain again. I miss you and S.C. It’s wonderful to see your work again. Aloha, Rose

  7. Wishing you happiness. Lovely pics of the pups. Nice. /J.D.

  8. This is good news to see you are settled in and wonderful to see pics of your dog friends. I am sure you have some pretty exciting walks, now, Gretchen. Stay safe.

Leave a Reply

