White Dog Art

bebe

In Art Watercolor Gallery, Ravens and Crows, Things with Feathers, Wild Things on September 18, 2013 at 3:22 pm
watercolor aceo 9/2013

watercolor aceo 9/2013

This morning on highway 15 in the Inland Empire, Southern California a baby crow on the road caused a traffic jam. The baby was eventually brought to safety. This gladdened my heart and gave me hope for the future of mankind.

  1. Ah, read it with a worried heart till your last words of reassurance. I hope that the bebé was reunited with his family. These acts of compassion truly comfort the heart. I can feel the anguish of this beautful baby, but know that by now he is safe. Lovely ruffled feathers splashed by a golden beam.

  2. This is a really cool piece! You convey the sweet, naivete in his eye…he’s so alive! And I love how you’ve made his little sun/moon disc. I do breathe a small sigh of relief when I hear something like this. I’m glad he was able to stop traffic. A friend of mine here spent a great part of the crows’ breeding season in the streets and parking areas near her workplace, educating people on the presence of the grounded fledglings, their family structure, and habits, with surprising (to me) results. People started paying attention, looking out for the babies, making signs to warn drivers to watch for them, etc…. It was similarly heartwarming.

    I bid on this piece on EBay, but was outbid. It would’ve made a great gift for this friend, but she’ll have to settle for a calendar with MY artwork instead! 🙂 This painting is a fav! It’s definitely worth more than I can afford to pay for it!

    • That’s really wonderful about your friend educating people about the crow behavior. It would seem that if people know about the habits of an animal then they would be more likely to help.
      Sorry that the bidding went too high for you. I have a lot of giclee prints that sell for $8. They are very high quality and almost as nice as the original. There are some ravens among the prints.

      • I hope so!

        No worries about the bidding…it’s all for the good! I will check out your prints. Are they on your Etsy store?

      • Both Etsy and Ebay Camilla. I awaiting about 20 additional giclees from Tony my printer which I will list as soon as I have them.

  3. Love it 🙂 The piece and the story!

  4. Glad to hear the baby was saved!! Love the painting 🙂 ~Sophia

  5. Held my breath when I first read this tonight. I am so glad people were kind enough to care about a small baby bird. My heart always skips a beat when I think I hear their cries somewhere in my garden. Usually they make their way out into the open and mama finds them, a fact that always amazes me. 🙂

  6. I forgot to say how much I loved your painting of him. He looks just like they look when I find them. That fearful but fierce look in the eye even when so tiny.

    • I too have rescued a few babies and they have this fear and fight around them. One has to think before picking them up since it is a transgression upon their nature. But we must act.

  7. I saw this happen at rush hour with a baby squirrel. These are indeed hopeful events … and the hope is that they become so common we cease to feel the need to comment. He is very sweet, this little one.

  8. Wonderful & amazing! I love this. ~amy

  9. I’ve never done anything like this before so I’m sorry if I don’t understand…I wanted to buy the crow but it has a sold sign on it and bidding ended on the 25th so I can’t get a copy of it any longer right?

    • Oh dear….it has been sold to the highest bidder. If you want a reproduction, I can upload a high resolution scan to my web site where ‘prints on demand’ are available. The smallest size is 5″x7″ which is priced at $18.50 + shipping from the printer.
      When I list a painting for auction the auction lasts for 7 days. The day that I start the auction is the same day that I post it in my blog. Let me know if you want me to make a print available on my web site.

  10. I missed it. Thank you. I love crows. Maybe I’ll try the above or wait until you paint another one. LOL

Leave a Reply

