White Dog Art

lewis’s cats

In Art Watercolor Gallery, Zenkats on June 25, 2013 at 11:26 am
watercolor aceo 6/2013

watercolor aceo 6/2013

 

watercolor aceo c6/2013

watercolor aceo c6/2013

These two kitties were a commission from two delightful men on the mountain who rescue feral cats. I have been painting their cats for some years now. Lucky cats to have been given a home.

 

  1. These are beautiful! I adore tabbies! And the second one, especially, has this abstract quality that I really like…the implicit forms that I like so well about your work, combined with the precise, cat-like looks of the eyes. Super!

  2. Thank you Camilla. I always am interested to read what you say about the paintings. Your comments allow me to see the work from your perspective. Interesting. I don’t really see them. I just paint.

  3. Nice! Nice! Nice! …so sweet.

  4. I have to praise anyone who rescues feral cats. Many of them exist because of human heartlessness. Beautiful portraiture, Gretchen.

    • Thank you Leslie. The people on my mountain rescue animals. It’s like their calling. So many animals are cruelly released on the mountain by their owners who live in what we call ‘flatland.’. I guess that they think that their pet will survive because it can hunt a meal here. The only reason that their pet is going to survive on the mountain is because it will be rescued by one of us. The feral cats are always fed by our mountain people even if they do not take them into the house. I can only hope that my own cat who disappeared this winter has been found and offered a new home. The alternative is a coyote meal. I like the first scenario.

Leave a Reply

