White Dog Art

late sleeper

In Art Watercolor Gallery, Wild Things on May 8, 2013 at 2:34 pm
watercolor aceo 5/2013

watercolor aceo 5/2013

I’m not really sure just Br’er Bear is up to right now. It is spring and he must have awakened. He just hasn’t visited my cottage. I carry my ‘Bear Horn’ now when I walk.

purchase this painting

  1. He looks a bit groggy….I can relate! What a beautiful bear! I’m curious how much you are controlling the “bleeding” effects of the watercolor and how much you are using/working with what “just happens.” However you do it, the result is marvelous!

    • Excellent. I love to answer painting questions. I pretty much don’t control the bleeding. For instance …I know that there are going to be deep set areas and light but when I put down color and water I am never certain what will happen. Then I just keep on going with what shows up on the paper. I think it is ever so much more interesting than anything that I could contrive. I give myself over to the will of the water. I am always suprised at the result because I really did not do it.
      Blessings Songdog

  2. he’s very sweet… this brings a smile. 🙂

  3. What a beauty… So very magnificent!

  4. I really really like how those loose washes settled around this bear’s face. Sculpted him or here, perfectly!

  5. I really don’t knowhow those washes happen. I am always intending the sculpture which will simply portray the animal, but this is really not something that I dwell on while painting. I pretty much just loved the bear and this is what appeared. The more that I am in my body and the less in my mind the richer the painting.

Leave a Reply

