White Dog Art

nrisingha

In Art Watercolor Gallery, Wild Things on March 22, 2013 at 12:32 pm
watercolor aceo 3/2013

watercolor aceo 3/2013

Nrisingha is a man-lion avatar. It is told that Vishnu, the supreme lord, descended to earth as a creature half man and half lion. On earth he slew the demon Hiranyakasipu because this demon’s great pride had angered the gods as well as man. This is a very involved story which I will not attempt to tell here. Hindu mythology is always very involved and usually bloody. I find it interesting.

 

  1. Wow, Gretchen, this is amazing. An image just like this came to me in a dream. It startled and thrilled simultaneously. I never forgot him and now here he is in your painting. You have an uncanny talent of painting the life of dreams. Thank you.

    • I do believe that anything you can bring into being through imagination exists in some dimension. Otherwise, where does the image come from? What is imagination?

  2. He LOOKS like a Hindu god to me…exactly how I’d picture such a being! Love the story of Rose’s dream!

    • I really had no idea just how this image would come to life. Vishnu is a universal teacher. Perhaps he was present? I have painted visions shared be others who I did not know existed until after the painting was published. Yes we are all one.

  3. Jai Narasimha Namah!

  4. Gretchen, your art touches the spirit of so many people. This is a very special and valuable quality.

    • I think that every creation touches us in some way. We instinctively look for healing. I am happy that you have the experience that you do when you see these paintings that come through the internet to you.

Leave a Reply

