White Dog Art

the white

In Art Watercolor Gallery, Wolves on March 9, 2013 at 2:20 pm
watercolor aceo c3/2013

watercolor aceo c3/2013

Yesterday was very much a snow day. About 8 inches had fallen, it was still snowing and it was foggy. Everything was white. The dogs and I went for a walk. It was so still and so white. In the woods beside us coyotes watched us. I couldn’t see them, but the dogs had ‘mohawks’ and were very wary. Even though the coyotes are grey and brown they were totally cloaked by the snowy scene. It was as though the white had swallowed us all….me, dogs, coyotes. Very trippy.

purchase this painting

 

  1. those eyes are so piercing and he is gorgeous … your walk sounds very cold!

  2. Gorgeous! I love your animals!
    Could you do a step-by-step on how you do them?

    • Thank you. I love painting them. Here is a link to a progress painting. https://gretchendelrio.wordpress.com/2011/07/21/marrakech/

      • Thanks! The cat is lovely.
        Your style has changed quite a bit since then, your paintings are far more minimalist – is that the right word? Lots of white space, only a few lines, and yet somehow very definite. I was really wondering how you achieve that…

      • Actually my technique has not changed but my eye has. I think less about what I am doing and just do. I really appreciate your interest and I will do my best to record my process. Perhaps my work has become more gestalt. And maybe minimalist could be said. Less paint. Fewer strokes. Your eye will fill in whatever your mind needs to see.

  3. Beautiful painting, Gretchen. Would coyotes eventually go to people?

    • As pets?……possibly. As prey? ……mostly not. They would have to be starving and in a big pack. Having anything carnivorous stalk you for any reason is unnerving. These coyotes are after my dogs.

      • Under the right conditions and with plenty of freedom, they are able to integrate well into a human/canine pack. For a great example and some beautiful photography, see http://www.dailycoyote.net/

      • Thanks for the ‘Daily Coyote.’ I agree that animals from the wild can be domesticated especially if they are taken young. I have met a number of coyote/dog mixes as well as wolf hybrids. I love the wild in these animals. Some of the humans living on the mountain put food out for the coyotes. Probably not good if one lives with pets.

  4. Such a beautiful image…. Here’s to forever protecting these magnificent creatures!!

    • It’s really frustrating that we humans think that we can just blow up whatever doesn’t fit into our plan. The wolves must survive or it’s big trouble. I just do not know how it is going to work. Big changes are happening.

      • So very true. We’re an exceptionally vain and selfish species. And wolves, as are so many creatures, are VITAL to the ecosystems. It’s sad and disgusting… But voices are hopefully being heard.

  5. You describe the feeling of being on the land in this type of weather so well…I felt it myself reading your description! Beautiful painting, too!

  6. I love your writing as much as your paintings! Thanks for ‘ra’ and the breakdown of your process – very cool!

Leave a Reply

