White Dog Art

silkie

In Art Watercolor Gallery, Painted Ponies on December 30, 2012 at 4:13 pm
watercolor 7 x 10 12/2012

watercolor 7 x 10 12/2012

This painting is quite a bit larger than the aceo size so it proved to be somewhat challenging because I needed to change brush size and the amount of color that I mixed. I really like using large brushes. Actually I use proportionally large brushes for the aceo size. If the tip of a large brush is is good condition, it is hardly necessary to change brushes for the entire painting. Large washes as well as the finest detail can be handled very well. I learned to use the largest tool for the job when I was assisting a painter/repairman. The lesson has served me well.

  1. This is beautiful, Gretchen. Really lovely.

  2. Gretchen – I have so enjoyed your artwork this year and look forward to seeing your creations in 2013. Thank you so much for all your comments, they mean so much. May your new year be full of peace, love and joy.

  3. All your other paintings are for sale, is this one not?

    • ‘Silkie’ was painted for a collector. That’s why it is not for sale.

      • Is that why it wasn’t ACEO sized? Do you only sell ACEO work or anything larger?

      • I usually paint my commissions in a size larger than aceo. I began paintings that were miniatures due to health issues. Easier to handle in all ways. I haven’t painted LARGE for a few years now. As I said in my comment with ‘Silkie’ different size paintings require different methods. I used to paint full wall murals a number of years ago. To paint that large I needed to ‘break out’ of the full size watercolor sheet of paper habit. I think that most artists experience the size change challenge. At this point regarding the way that I paint I would probably need to paint large images with a house paint brush. Sounds like a fun challenge, however. The other reason for continuing to produce aceo cards is that they sell immediately and are available to more people because of the price. It keeps me painting, pays for the rent and the expensive dog food. Thanks for your communication. Blessings, Gretchen

  4. Love the contrast of the mane in this and the interesting art on the horse and the color the blanket adds. Beautiful, Gretchen!

Leave a Reply

