White Dog Art

jones

In Art Watercolor Gallery, Things with Feathers on June 24, 2012 at 10:44 am

original watercolor aceo 2.5 x 3.5 6/2012

I’m really jonesing for a barn owl sighting. On my early morning walk I was accompanied by a raucous raven. Joining the cacophony were two wolf hybrids unwillingly contained behind a very tall chain link fence. They don’t bark. Just kinda make a sound somewhere between a howl and a growl gone wrong. I collected a number of discarded blue jay flight feathers. I am assuming that they were donated due to an encounter with a predator. That’s nature. I am so very grateful to be here. Oh…and, thankfully, no site of Donald’s bear.


  1. I have never seen a barn owl in the wild. Would really like to see one, too. Plenty of barred and great horned owls.

  2. As I understand it, barn owls are the owl most adapted to ‘city life.’ I almost never see owls. I hear them as they are nestled among the branches of tall pines. There are an awful lot of ravens around here during the day and that could be contributing to the owls digging in.

  3. Beautiful painting Gretchen!!! Love the owl’s face!!! ~Sophia

  4. Thanks, Sophia. I love these owls.

Leave a Reply

