White Dog Art

bear

In Art Watercolor Gallery, Wolves on June 21, 2012 at 2:41 pm

original watercolor c6/2012

I don’t think this is a wolf. I know that’s what I set out to paint but it was clearly intercepted by my fear. Here it is anyway.

 

I was walking my dogs this morning as usual. A truck pulled up beside me and a giant of a man got out and came around to speak to me. He was a cross between the Hulk and a line backer. He said…..”I thought I should warn you what with you and your dogs out here. I just saw a hugh bear coming across the road. He stood up and he was far taller than me.” Now I was looking up at this guy ….way up. So I can’t imagine the bear. He said he had taken some photos on his phone and he showed them to me. I couldn’t see them because I didn’t have my glasses but I got the picture. “You need to be careful.” I don’t know what that meant. What does careful mean in a situation like this.

 

Well I thought either this sucker is going to show up or he isn’t and I will just keep on going home. No sign of any bear, but I was looking real hard. Then I passed my neighbor’s house and she opened her door and yelled to me  “There’s a hugh bear is over there. He’s not afraid of anything.” That was reassuring. then she closed the door. Now Buddha started bellowing. Obviously he had noticed that we had a bear around. I leashed him and kept on going home. I mean what else could I have done. I never saw the bear and I got home. I called my friend Alice. I knew that she would be up and she would understand. We used to go walking together and she carried a 38 mm. The first chamber housed a blank….to scare off an animal. The second contained a full fledged bullet. I always hoped that she wouldn’t have to test it out. She was helpful and sent me the online site for bear spray. I’m not quite sure how I am going to be walking the dogs tomorrow morning. This seems to be neighborhood bear. My friend Donald who lives less than a quarter mile away said a reeeelly big bear has been up on his porch for the last two nights. I think I will call the bear Donald’s Bear and hope that we don’t meet…..ever.

  1. Gretchen, I’m so glad you’re okay. Do you think that bear will eventually go back into the woods?

  2. I really don’t know. So far as I know the bears here are not aggressive unless they have cubs. One needs to stay out of the way. I just had a ‘knee jerk’ reaction. I never saw the bear. The thought of coming across a big bear during my walk is not comforting.

  3. I love that your so in tune enough to realize the struggle between your mind leaning one way, as to which way to take the painting and yet your emotions “clearly intercepted” that process. I think it is a beautiful snapshot of your own personal reality, right in that moment. That’s really cool, great story! btw,, Cathy is soooo excited and cannot wait to get “Her Pony,” Thank you for being you!!

    • Well, Jeremy, THE BEAR is becoming a faint odor in my consciousness and I am delving into bear behavior. I have an air horn now and I hope I never have to use it. It seems that I don’t identify with my mind so much anymore, but the ‘stuff’ does go on. Especially those intense situations like when you think your life could be on the line.

Leave a Reply

