White Dog Art

dhyren

In Art Watercolor Gallery, Wolves on June 4, 2012 at 2:58 pm

original watercolor aceo 2.5 x 3.5 c6/2012

He came to visit me yesterday and brought his owner Caroline. He is a gray wolf hybrid.  I thoroughly enjoyed watching him. Wolf hybrids such as Dhyren are rated as to their ‘wolfyness.’ Dhyren has 18 out of 21 wolf points. He is just gorgeous. He hopped up on the couch next to Caroline and he took up 2/3 of the space….It’s a big couch.  A $2,000 dog bed actually. I haven’t quite captured his impish look in this painting. Yes this is a wolf that looks impish and he is. Such a character. Every summer Caroline stocks a baby pool with feeder fish and lets Dhyren play predator. He loves the action. In the fall Caroline takes down the baby pool and the fish that have survived are transferred to an inside fish tank. The only one left now is ‘Moby.’ Dhyren could see him all winter, but couldn’t get to him. ‘Moby’  actually belongs to Caroline’s boyfriend Ian. Dhyren knows this and when he is left alone in the house he chews up Ian’s stack of mail. I’m going to keep working on his expression. he is my wolf muse.

  1. Very cool painting and story. Closest I’ve come to touching a wolf is a malamute.

    • Malamutes are wonderful dogs and they are actually often the dog part of the wolf hybrid. Wolves are naturally wary of any human that they don’t know. You must qualify in their eyes as being one of their pack. I’m lucky enough to be considered so by Dhyren. His owner is always working toward expanding his comfort zone with people but were she not doing that it would be impossible to approach him. Oh….he is not at all aggressive. They just tend to get as far away as possible from unknown humans.

  2. Gretchen, I love this painting. That look in his eyes; curious, not afraid of anything and knowing that he is loved and much appreciated (that’s what I see). Wonderful muse. I hope he lives nearby.

  3. Well I am happy to report that he lives right up the road. I am sure that I will paint him many more times and the stories about him are endless.

  4. Thanks so much for this painting, I love it, plus it looks so much like my little “weed” your the greatest Gretchen

Leave a Reply

