White Dog Art

enigma

In Art Watercolor Gallery, Wolves on May 20, 2012 at 11:33 am

I spend a lot of time with my two dogs walking in the National Forest of the San Bernardino Mountains. I’m lucky because it’s right across the street from my cottage. Anyway, when we walk, my large dog usually wanders into the woods out of sight. I never worry about his location because he always knows where I am. He will be gone for a half hour sometimes. The thing that is so interesting is that he can disappear into the bushes and 2 minutes later come out of some undergrowth further up the trail. I have even followed his tracks in the snow. They stop and here he comes walking toward me and the only tracks I can see are those coming toward me. I have no idea how he gets from one place to the other. Others have experienced this also. ‘How did he do that?’ they say. I call him the “Shapeshifter.” It seems as though there is something inexplicable and going on here. His name is “Buddha” and he is a very magical dog. He even looks magical……..from middle earth perhaps.


Buddha the dog. Notice his tail. Looks like he bowered it from a raccoon.

  1. It must be great for your dog to have such freedom.
    I love this painting (and the happy dog photo 🙂 ).

  2. Yes. It is nice not to leash the dogs. Leashes are not mandatory within the National Forest. My female stays by my side and Buddha, the male, trots through out the outing giving him the exercise and mental stimulation on which he thrives. They are both dog and people friendly. I do leash them when we encounter a dog that we don’t know or people who panic when they see a dog off leash. My two have a feral look about them and, if people aren’t familiar with wilderness, it makes them uneasy seeing them untethered.

  3. I read this story before I went to bed, nicee to take that image with me.
    Do you mean Tolkien’s Middle earth ?

  4. Yes. He doesn’t look quite like any other dog. A fantasy creation.

Leave a Reply

