White Dog Art

gigi

In Art Watercolor Gallery, Zenkats on March 17, 2012 at 8:29 pm

original watercolor aceo 2.5 x 3.5 c3/2012

Gigi was found. Her owners love her very much. She is one of the lucky kitties. She weighs only 5 lbs and looks like a kitten.

  1. In all your cat paintings I see a cat with a character; a cat I can so easily love. While I’m happily looking at Gigi I notice her colour. It’s beautiful done.

    • Thanks Hanneke. I still have fear of black. I kept going back and laying down more paint on Gigi. I think that I feel as though I am over working a painting when I must do this, but the black that I mix is transparent. So…..layers I must do to establish a rich and dense black. I am hoping to move beyond the fear by painting more black ‘things’ as the occasions arise.

  2. Perfection is only in our fantasy and rarely exists in real but you touched it ,Gretchen,with your “gigi” painting !!!!!!!!
    It is exceptional work,my friend !
    If she was older and T.S.Eliot was still alive,he would be proud to include her in his :
    Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats.
    A real Jellicle cat,Gretchen !!!
    Jellicle Cats are black and white,rather small,merry and bright,have cheerful faces and they like to practise their airs and graces and wait for the Jellicle Moon to rise …….
    Doda

  3. Perhaps she will be going to the ‘Jellicle Ball.’ You know….I am going to acquire a copy of T.S Elliot’s book of cats. I have never read this one and it sounds delightful. I am a ‘Cronicles of Narnia’ fan. I actually ‘press’ my miniature painting flat with the pages. I would like to think that the art picks up some Narnia magic. And Gigi just looks like a kitten. She is actually an older cat. I think that her look could have come from her former life on the streets. But she is safe now.

  4. With this one, you bring back memories, Gretchen. We had a cat named Sassafras when I was young. He was a people cat and he taught me that cats can be ma’s best friend, also. I have had many black and whites for just that reason. Love this painting.

Leave a Reply

