White Dog Art

dhyren

In Critters on August 31, 2011 at 12:39 pm

This post is for Hanneke especially. I wanted her to have a taste of the wolf. Dhyren is a wolf hybrid having all the wolfie behavior traits of a full wolf. In fact, his owner, Carolyn, says that there is almost no dog in him. It has been my pleasure watching him grow. He has a wonderful, knowledgeable and patient owner who took the time to understand wolf behavior and raise Dhyren to fit into human/dog society. There is also a picture of Montana. She is out of the same parents, but a litter one year behind Dhyren. She has had the same good fortune to have been chosen by a wonderful owner. Unfortunately, wolf hybrids are not usually this lucky and do not grow to be wonderful adults. Most people just love the idea of owning a wolf and have no idea what the responsibility will be.

DHYREN a wee pup...2-3 months

DHYREN about 6 months

DHYREN teenage wolf in training

DHYREN winter 2011 growing up and very wolfie. Wouldn't want to meet a creature that looks like this in a dark alley. He is very sweet.

DHYREN winter 2011 As a pup his coat was so soft. It is now very corse. And the markings have changed.

DYHREN

MONTANA she was about one year and very wary of people. She is very calm now....a few years later.

 

 

  1. Thank you so much Gretchen. What an adorable creature. When I see Dyhren and Montana I can hardly believe I was so afraid of wolves when I was a child. It looks like a dog but not quite. They have such wonderful eyes. They are truly impressive.

    • Fairy tales have some fearsome accounts of wolves. Kids have nightmares over the tale. Wolves will leave you alone….usually. ♥ gretchen

      white dog art gretchendelrio.wordpress.com gretchendelrio.com

  2. Great sharing,engaging detail!
    I just loved it,Gretchen.
    Thank you

    • I have missed you very much and I am relieved to see your words again.

      Gretchen

      • Thanks a million,Gretchen.
        It’s totally mutual and I am dead sure you can sense it my friend.
        I hate being an inconsistent contact,but,over summer there is a lot of hustle and bustle around with the holidays and I am completely disorganised.
        Nevertheless,I occasionally checked out new material coming from my WordPress and Flickr friends,but I didn’t have enough time to handle with all of it meticulously.Hope,before long all will be back to normal again.
        I was delighted to see your recent paintings which were absolutely smart and of high quality as ever,imbued with ideals and principles,painted with colourful,sentimental brush strokes.
        Love the hidden secrets of the Universe behind your Art and your thoughts …

      • Yes Doda, I understand busy. I moved 2 1/2 months ago and it was a killer. Summer has been fractured. ♥ gretchen

        white dog art gretchendelrio.wordpress.com gretchendelrio.com

  3. These beautiful creatures are very lucky. I have two dogs that were rescued from puppy mills. The female is a lovely lilltle lady but she spent so many years being bred and abused that she is timid and full of fear. It takes special understanding and patience to care for these exceptional animals properly.

Leave a Reply

