White Dog Art

marrakech

In Art Watercolor Gallery, Paintings in process, Zenkats on July 21, 2011 at 1:22 pm

original watercolor aceo 2.5 x 3.5 c7/2011

Named for the city Marrakech located in Morocco near the Atlas Mountains. Ahhhh….she is dreaming of a great feast. Savory chicken pie, Lamb with honey, beautiful spiced olives, fluffy couscous and,of course, steaming hot mint tea poured from a silver pot into tall clear glasses. She can just snooze on top of the rugs and pillows after she has eaten her fill. Eat on feline.

I have wanted to document a painting in progress for some time now. I finally made it. Hope you enjoy seeing the process below.

1. The pencil drawing done with a 5H pencil on a precut 300lb aceo card. I always keep my lines light and few as possible so that the pencil will not detract from the finished art.

2. I added background design with liquid mask. I use Masquepen with a super fine applicator made by that company out of the UK. After it is dry I start painting. The mask will keep the white where it was applied. After the painting is finished I remove the mask.

3. First wash. You can see how I painted right over the mask. It is a light blue.

4. Second wash and some detail.

5. Third wash and background.

6. Mask removed. And you can see that it has left the raw white paper unpainted.

7. I dropped in a bit of green on the leaves, added some last dark highlights and applied some dots of gold with a Pilot medium gold marker. I love the shade of gold in this pen. Every so often when I am looking for something fresh to do with my painting I go online and browse for some interesting new tool or pigment. One of these shopping trips turned up a bunch of gold pens. I often underpaint before using the mask. I didn’t think about that this time.

  1. Thank you for sharing this. It’s a lovely painting and inspiring to see how it appears. The Masquepen, is it the same as art masking fluid?

  2. Fascinating to see how you paint! And all the more so because it is a 180 degrees opposite of my own process!
    Curious, what is the purpose of the purple cord with tassel?

    Jude

    • Just a pleasing setting. I am planning to photograph in this way for my Etsy store. Everything takes time but I want to make the listings more interesting. ♥ gretchen

      white dog art gretchendelrio.wordpress.com gretchendelrio.com

  3. What a lovely lovely document of this gorgeous painting of Marrakech. I have come back several times to study it.

Leave a Reply

