White Dog Art

podagros

In Art Watercolor Gallery, Painted Ponies on May 12, 2011 at 2:56 pm

original watercolor aceo 3.5 x 2.5 c5/2011

In Greek mythology Podagros is one of the four mares of King Diomedes. The name means ‘the fast.’ It is said that the horse of Alexander the Great was a descendant of the mares.

  1. OM !It is astonishing how your “multi-sided” talent and your sharp-witted spirit managed to conceive and create this mythical mare.
    Gentle colours and splashes make Podagros impressive and the presence of the feather refers to assorted civilizations and mythologies.The red-circled eye represents and depicts the violent nature of the Diomedes Mares which is,so efficiently, moderated by his tame,meek look…
    For some reason or probably instinctively you have chosen the fastest out of the four to harmonize with your “flexible”…artistic nature.

    • I opted to edit out the ferocity of the mares for the sake of the reader. I see horses as friends to man, but the Greek myth is very interesting. The horses I paint come to me from the painted ponies belonging to Native American indians. Before going into battle warriors painted a red circle around the eye of their war horses for the purpose of assuring alert vision and a keen sense of smell. Coup Feathers were braided into the horse’s forelock and tail. All actions being taken to give victory. I find this history very alluring. Thanks as always for your beautiful comments.

      ♥ gretchen

      white dog art gretchendelrio.wordpress.com gretchendelrio.com

      • Well,that’s the grandeur of Fine Arts.A beautiful feather and a red circle that had so many “aspects” to share with the viewers and their cultural background…..
        To my eyes,although the assorted elements were obvious,I focused on my cultural experience and education to interpret the stimuli I received from Podagros..
        Thank you for the exciting,alluring history you shared with us…
        Fine Arts have so many things to teach apart from feasting our eyes..

      • Ah yes. All in the eye of the beholder. And all sight is valued.

        Gretchen

  2. I don’t know how you pack so much content into the very small ACEO format. Remarkable and thank you to MARYOGA for her comments. Very informative!

    • Well Linda, I have been working with this size for a long time and I have learned how to paint small. Now when I paint larger I feel as though I am faced with crossing a desert. But going up in size is easier than coming down. Yes…maryoga posts wonderful comments. They are very inspiring to my creativeness. Podagros came into being because of her reference to the Mares of Diomedes. Thanks so much for all your comments.

      Gretchen

Leave a Reply

