White Dog Art

phoenix rising

In Art Watercolor Gallery, Wild Things on April 19, 2011 at 2:02 pm

original watercolor 22 x 18

I started this piece during a snow storm and have taken forever to finish. Just couldn’t get into it after my initial painting session. I do like the finished product, but I’m not in love with it. I usually love the ones that just fly together. I almost always feel as though I labored too much over commissions. This piece is not over worked….it just feels like it from all the mental effort I put into it. The discoloration in the lower right corner is due to bad photography. The actual painting does not have this discoloration.

This is where it began in January 2011. I want to take evolutionary photos of a painting in progress. I will…but when I don’t know.

  1. Gretchen, I love Asian art and this is beautiful. I like the crisp, clean colors and the feeling of movement and vital energy.

  2. Back to the beautiful San Bernardino Mountains ?
    Still alive and kicking and painting…?
    Your rising Phoenix is beautiful and very artistic.The mythical sacred firebird wrote its stories in the Mythologies of Greeks,Phoenicians,Romans,Chinese…and your Phoenix wrote its own story….I,totally,like the way you finished it.
    By the way,I had commented on all your art works which you published before leaving for San Jose.Have you seen my comments?
    There was no response and I thought that something went wrong.
    Thanks for commenting on my Marathon post.
    All the Best

    • Hi Doda. Yes I am still here….in the mountains. This has been one of those times where everything backs up on me. I just had to regroup. It was lovely being with my grandkids. Sorry about my lack of response. However, I did read your posts and comments. Thank you. The first Phoenix I painted was years ago. It was a gift to my son who had just risen from the ashes.

      Gretchen

  3. I think this Pheonix is magical and very much an inspirtation to my heart… is it possible to get a print? Your gift is awesome 🙂

    • Merrily…thank you. I have, however sold the original since it was a commission. Unfortunately I did not shoot a high resolution digital necessary for printing a giclee. I’m very sorry to disappoint you.

  4. Might you be willing to sell the original if itis still in good condition? Beautiful!!!!!

Leave a Reply

